Livestreams are straight 1:1-broadcasts. That means, your audience needs a lot of time. Be honest with yourself: Have you ever watched a livestream of a conference which lasted eight hours?
 
Compared to livestreams, liveblogs are curated and perfectly fit the short attention spans of your audience — especially in the B2B area and for decision makers. Liveblogs are a user-friendly format, which are ideally to consume, either when being en route or in the office. In addition to that production costs are much lower and the effects for marketing more sustainable. 
 
Blog-Illustrationen_Hero-Blog-vs-Stream

LIVE ≠ LIVE

Know your target audience!

While video-livestreams offer a straight, complete 1:1-broadcast and documentation, liveblogs are a curated, multimedia summary of the most important highlights of the event from several perspectives. 
Livestreams demand a longer engagement, uninterrupted and over a longer period.
Compared to that, liveblogs allow your audience to read "asynchronous" and switch between photos, videos as well as text and quotes. On the basis of our liveblog statistics we learned that many users leave the liveblog open in a browser tab and repeatedly interact with its content, during and after the event. This leads to an average reading times of 5 to 10 minutes across all storytile liveblogs – enough time for inform your reader about your event and place your key messages.
Event organizers should ask themselves the question which target audience they want to address and how much time each online user can reserve for the live-content. Most of the time shorter and easy consumable content is the better choice. 
 
Blog-Illustrationen_Blog-vs-Stream-Detail
 
There are a few exceptions:
If you rely on longer attention spans, e.g. during sports events, an investment in a continuous live-broadcast still might be worth the effort. Ask yourself if your event offers enough emotional stories to keep your online-viewers entertained. This might be true for most sport events but not for a business conference.
 
In comparison to those events, liveblogs primarily address users who engage with real-time content over a short period of time, be it en route or in the office. Because of that a liveblog curates and summarizes the most important content as "service for the reader". Thus liveblogs are an all-embracing multimedia coverage including live-photos, videos, concise quotations, text-updates and social media-posts. 
Huge and important events with bigger budgets should choose a combination of livestreams and liveblogs. Thus the visitor can first scroll over the liveblog and then decide, whether it might be following the event in a livestream session.
 
But especially for the target audience of decision makers liveblogs offer the  most important content of an event in real-time.

Dein Kontakt zu storytile

General:
+49 89 95 45 73 69-0
mail@storytile.net

Support:
+49 89 95 45 73 69-9
support@storytile.net

Livestreams sind lineare 1:1-Übertragungen.
Das heißt, deine Zuschauer müssen viel Zeit mitbringen.
Hand aufs Herz: Wer hat sich jemals einen acht Stunden langen Konferenz-Livestream angeschaut?
Live-Blogs sind dagegen kuratiert und optimal für kurze Aufmerksamkeitsspannen (v.a. B2B => Entscheiderformat). Sie zeichnen sich durch ein nutzerfreundliches Live-Format für unterwegs (mobil) oder im Büro aus. Außerdem sind die Produktionskosten deutlich geringer und der Marketing-Effekt nachhaltiger.

LIVE ≠ LIVE

Kenne Deine Zielgruppe!

Während Video-Livestreams eine lineare, lückenlose 1:1-Übertragung und Dokumentation der Vorträge darstellen, sind Live-Blogs eine kuratierte, multimediale Zusammenfassung der wichtigsten Event-Highlights aus mehreren Perspektiven.
Livestreams verlangen vom Nutzer eine längere Engagement-Dauer, ununterbrochen und über eine lange Zeitspanne.
Live-Blogs hingegen ermöglichen das „asynchrone“ Lesen und Anschauen der multimedialen Inhalte. Anhand der Live-Blog-Statistiken haben wir gelernt, dass Nutzer den Live-Blog oftmals im Hintergrund als Browser-Tab offen lassen und während sowie nach dem Event wiederholt über mehrere Minuten hinweg mit dem Content interagieren.
Am Ende stellt sich die Frage, welche Zielgruppe man anspricht und wie viel Zeit sich der jeweilige Online-Nutzer für den Live-Content reservieren kann, damit sich die Content-Produktion lohnt. Geht man von einer (beruflich) sehr aktiven Zielgruppe aus, sind kurze Inhalte die bessere Wahl.
Plant man allerdings mit langen Aufmerksamkeitsspannen, z.B. im Sport, dann lohnt sich die Investition in eine durchgängige Live-Übertragung.
Mit Liveblogs sprechen wir vor allem diejenigen Nutzer an, die sich im Büro oder unterwegs über eine kurze Zeitspanne mit den Echtzeit-Inhalten befassen. Deswegen kuratieren und fassen Liveblogger die wichtigsten Inhalte als „Service für den Leser“ zusammen. Dadurch sind die multimedialen Live-Blogs eine umfassende Berichterstattung mit Live-Fotos, Videos, prägnanten Zitaten, Text-Updates und Social Media-Beiträgen.
Große und wichtige Ereignisse bieten sowohl mit Livestreams als auch mit Live-Blogs jeder Zielgruppe das passende Format. Vorträge oder Besucher-Statements lassen sich per Video direkt während dem Event in den Blog integrieren.
Aber vor allem für die Zielgruppe der Entscheider bieten Live-Blogs alle wichtigen Inhalte – in Echtzeit.

Dein Kontakt zu storytile

Allgemein:
089 / 95 45 73 69-0
mail@storytile.net

Support:
089 / 95 45 73 69-9
support@storytile.net